Print the plastic parts

For this section you will need:

Tools

Materials

  • 500 g of PLA filament - Of any colour you want. Two contrasting colours may look best.

Step 1: Printing

Using an FDM printer you will 3D print the components from PLA filament. You need to print the following parts:

Part name STL File
Base Ring base_ring.stl
Riser riser.stl
Main gear main_gear.stl
Optics Carriage optics_carriage.stl
Pinion Housing pinion_housing.stl
Camera Mount simple_camera_mount.stl
Camera Cable Clip camera_cable_clip.stl
M12 Adapter m12_adapter.stl
Illumination clip illumination_clip.stl
Focus Knob focus_knob.stl
Optics Thumbscrew optics_thumbscrew.stl
Electronics Mounting Plate electronics_mounting_plate.stl
Pi Tray pi_tray.stl
Screen Mount screen_mount.stl

You can download all of the STLs as a single zipfile

Step 2: Clean-up of printed parts

Be careful when removing brim

To avoid injury first remove the bulk of the brim without a knife. Remove the remaining brim with a peeling action as described below.

Carefully remove the printing brim from all parts (except the main body).

To remove brim:

  1. Use precision wire cutters to remove most of the brim from the part.
  2. Clean up remaining brim with a utility knife:
    • Hold the knife in your dominant hand with 4 fingers curled around the handle, leaving thumb free.
    • Hold the part in your other hand, as far away from the surface to be cut as possible.
    • Support the part with the thumb of your dominant hand.
    • Place blade on surface to be cut, and carefully close your dominant hand moving the blade, under control, towards your thumb.


Previous page | Next page